BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
November 23, 2014, 08:01:33 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Tired of seeing ads? Simply become a forum member and login (membership is free!).

nanny-rosy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: center of balance- a newbie question  (Read 1812 times)
kwilliams

kwilliams is a new face.

View Profile
« on: September 18, 2012, 05:08:18 PM »

I'm new to minimalist/barefoot shoes. I'm also new to my Wii fit.  The Wii fit computer analyzes your balance and from what I can tell, my balance.. well.. it sucks. I was not surprised when my "computer trainer" asked me if I fall down when I walk. Just b/c I'm clumsy, no need to be rude! haha

anyway, it seems like, from the balance tests, my center of balance is to my left and I definitely favor my heels. When I followed the computer's direction to center my balance, I was shocked at how much I felt like I was leaning forward but then I realized that its likely b/c I have been walking incorrectly, that I've also been balancing incorrectly using my heels.

I'm not a runner- I do like to walk for fitness and do aerobic type activity.  With more barefoot activity and barefoot shoes being added to my casual wear as well, should my center of balance gradually shift to where its supposed to be? I definitely plan to keep working w/ the balance exercises.

thank you!

Kelly - mom of 2, navy wife, jewelry maker and coffee addict.. new to minimalist/barefoot shoes and loving it!
Fan of Jayas, Frescas and Soft Star Shoes!
« on: September 18, 2012, 05:08:18 PM »

Mr. Leigh
Superstar