BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
November 26, 2014, 09:46:28 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Tired of seeing ads? Simply become a forum member and login (membership is free!).

nanny-rosy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Fighting the corporate uniform  (Read 856 times)
nickz

nickz is a new face.

View Profile
« on: April 03, 2012, 01:21:06 AM »

As I just replied here today I was informed by my Logistics Manager that I could no longer wear my VFFs on shows for work, but in our warehouse it was fine. I have been wearing them at this job for 9 months now without any problems. Tomorrow I plan on going back to him to discuss the matter further and attempt to regain my comfort.

I think I already have a strong case against it, but any insight from other forum members would be welcome.

First, some background to my work environment: I work in a warehouse with a cement floor. We have thousands of pieces of heavy(90+lb lights, 70+lb aluminum truss, 80/160lb steel plates for mounting pipe, etc.) gear, most of which lives in cases like these: . I drive a forklift and carry coils of cable upwards of 60 lb. All of this seems like a terrible place to wear VFFs and yet I've been doing so for months. About once every 2-3 months I roll a case over a pinky toe ever so slightly, mostly only grabbing the rubber of the shoe. It hurts for no more than 5 minutes. I am still permitted to wear my VFFs doing this although I have to be in "uniform" which is black pants or shorts, a black logo'd T-shirt or collared shirt and black or brown shoes.