BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
October 31, 2014, 11:21:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Tired of seeing ads? Simply become a forum member and login (membership is free!).

nanny-rosy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: morning soreness  (Read 1133 times)
xmp2k5

xmp2k5 is a new face.

View Profile
« on: August 31, 2011, 06:16:38 PM »

I have been wearing my VFF's since March 2011 and I walk, work, and run in them.  I haven't done very much running in them but I have went out for a few runs.  The problem is that I am having soreness on the bottom of my feet in the morning when I get out of the bed.  Once I put on my vibrams it goes away after a few minutes.  How long does it take for your feet to stop doing this?
« on: August 31, 2011, 06:16:38 PM »

The Yeti

The Yeti is starting to look familiar.The Yeti is starting to look familiar.

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2011, 07:14:49 PM »

I've been running and living in minimalist footwear since January, and I still get this occasionally. It's usually during a period of heavy activity, or sometimes even randomly. I wouldn't even describe it as soreness, just a little bit of stiffness. It's just enough that I notice it, in my feet and calves. It's always gone by the time I turn the alarm clock off and hop in the shower. It used to be a little bit sore when I first woke up earlier in my transition, but it's much less noticeable now.

If you are doing too much too soon, then it actually hurts when you wake up, an lingers a lot longer. At that point it's time to back off or take time away from running. A little bit of stiffness is ok though as long as it goes away quickly. You are using new muscle groups, an putting different stresses on your body, so it'll still feel stiff after a little while.

Hope that helps!

To err is human, to arr is pirate.
JustinB