BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
May 16, 2012, 10:37:40 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Have you seen the new BirthdayShoes wiki?  An evolving work in progress, let justin know if you'd like to contribute!  http://birthdayshoes.com/wiki/
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Tired of seeing ads? Simply become a forum member and login (membership is free!).

nanny-rosy
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 16
  Print  
Author Topic: Fake VFFs and Dubious Sellers - Post Your Questions and Warnings Here  (Read 35260 times)
0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
gb
Sr. Member
****

Reputation: 7
gb is starting to look familiar.gb is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 409


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2010, 03:17:56 PM »

hm.. hard to tell from the picture!   Perhaps after you receive the shoes, post some pictures; I am sure some of us should be able to spot if they look legit.

yes, it's so sad that the majority of the postings on ebay are fakes now.  I wonder if Vibram is doing anything about it.  I've gotten reports back from eBay saying only the patent/copyright holders can file official complaints about violations...

i did contact a few US sellers to let them know that they are selling fakes.  (well, just giving them the benefit of the doubt, and also raising awareness..)    Most deny it, of course, saying that their source vouches for authenticity.  However, one eBay seller, who bought hers online initially too, felt so bad after I sent her Justin's blog post that she actually took her listing off:

Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I did
look them up and all the vibram logo's are yellow.
I've cancelled the listing and informed the person
who was bidding. I thought they were original
because of the razor cuts on the bottom. I
wouldn't want someone to get hurt because the
shoes didn't perform as they were suppose to.
Thanks, XXX
Logged
BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2010, 03:17:56 PM »

 Logged
Jeepman
Hero Member
*****

Reputation: 10
Jeepman is well known.Jeepman is well known.Jeepman is well known.Jeepman is well known.
Posts: 777



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2010, 10:44:49 PM »

I was trying to confirm my suspicions and found that the original black KSOs do actually have a black top logo (at least the newer ones):
http://www.vibramfivefingers.com/products/products_KSO_m.cfm (hover over black model to see).


You are wrong. That is a photo shop error on the picture. Somebody over looked that before it got uploaded to the web sight. All those shoes are the same other than the color. They just use photo shop to change the colors. The yellow logo is part of Vibram's brand and trade mark. Companies do NOT go around changing their brand image. It is a very serious thing. A company lives and dies by its brand.
Logged

Arch support?... We don't need no stinking arch support!
Bango Skank
Sr. Member
****

Reputation: 6
Bango Skank is starting to look familiar.Bango Skank is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 346


master of the five fingered discount :O


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: April 20, 2010, 11:21:03 PM »

Somebody over looked that before it got uploaded to the web sight.

I'm not sure we should trust the word of someone who would make such a terrible pun.   Wink
« Last Edit: April 20, 2010, 11:59:53 PM by Bango Skank » Logged

The foot feels the foot when it feels the ground.
-Buddha
Bango Skank
Sr. Member
****

Reputation: 6
Bango Skank is starting to look familiar.Bango Skank is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 346


master of the five fingered discount :O


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: April 20, 2010, 11:54:17 PM »

Yeah, all the stock photos of the black KSO's (old or new) have the Vibram stitching blacked out on top.  It's just a misrepresentation.

Logged

The foot feels the foot when it feels the ground.
-Buddha
BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
« Reply #18 on: April 20, 2010, 11:54:17 PM »

 Logged
gb
Sr. Member
****

Reputation: 7
gb is starting to look familiar.gb is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 409


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2010, 05:47:32 AM »

interesting point (photoshop error!)   Indeed, all the black KSO's I've seen have yellow logo.  In fact, my boyfriend blacked it out himself with a magic marker.  Smiley
Logged
jtfdzn
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
jtfdzn is a new face.
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2010, 04:25:42 PM »

Can anyone verify this seller/product as genuine?  I'm looking into buying my first pair and know nothing about them: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&Item=180497076051&Category=63850&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26its%3DI%26otn%3D1

Thanks!
Logged
balsam0
Sr. Member
****

Reputation: 5
balsam0 is starting to look familiar.balsam0 is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 403



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2010, 04:37:50 PM »

Can anyone verify this seller/product as genuine?  I'm looking into buying my first pair and know nothing about them: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&Item=180497076051&Category=63850&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26its%3DI%26otn%3D1

Thanks!


Not a known Sprint color and the logo is white.  I say fake.
Logged
Decirium
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
Decirium is a new face.
Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2010, 05:23:23 PM »

Can anyone verify this seller/product as genuine?  I'm looking into buying my first pair and know nothing about them: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&Item=180497076051&Category=63850&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26its%3DI%26otn%3D1

Thanks!


Definite fake without question - all inners for sprints seem to be yellow and carry on up the heel in yellow, the upper looks wrong (not fabric style look), can't see a logo where the strap closes.  Colour has also been mentioned plus I'm not sure but comparing actual Vibram pics since I don't own Sprints, the wash instructions don't show where they do in that pic on ebay as they do on the vibram official sites.
Logged
gb
Sr. Member
****

Reputation: 7
gb is starting to look familiar.gb is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 409


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: April 21, 2010, 06:24:04 PM »

authentically FAKE!  Smiley

eBay made us took out the "warning, buyers beware posts"  I guess it violated their rules of "not actually selling anything", but how about selling counterfeits but marketing them as real?!    Doesn't seem like eBay is doing much about it; eBay at UK specifically told me only the proper copyright holder can complain..
Logged
hfoster
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
hfoster is a new face.
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: April 30, 2010, 03:22:33 PM »

Can someone tell me if these are really fake?  I just bought them...

http://cgi.ebay.com/Vibram-FiveFingers-KSO-black-grey-Size40-41-42-43-44-45-/220594456033?cmd=ViewItem&pt=US_Men_s_Shoes&hash=item335c7445e1#ht_3629wt_1167
Logged
hinogi
Hero Member
*****

Reputation: 7
hinogi is starting to look familiar.hinogi is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 528


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: April 30, 2010, 03:25:37 PM »


As you can see below they are fake Tongue
« Last Edit: April 30, 2010, 04:21:18 PM by hinogi » Logged
hfoster
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
hfoster is a new face.
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: April 30, 2010, 03:51:02 PM »

if you look at the strap though, its black and not grey like its supposed to be.  also, the 'vibram' logo on the side looks to me to be embroidered, not rubber like the real ones.  finally, the sticker on the box is white, not brown like it should be.   also, the stitching on the yellow tab on the inside of the heel is not the same as real ones...

is that right or do these variations actually happen by the manufacturer?
« Last Edit: April 30, 2010, 03:53:12 PM by hfoster » Logged
dirkverelst
Hero Member
*****

Reputation: 9
dirkverelst is a regular 'round here.dirkverelst is a regular 'round here.dirkverelst is a regular 'round here.
Posts: 690


Healing our environment with orgonite.


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: April 30, 2010, 04:05:26 PM »

pretty sure they are bogus from the pictures, and the description reads: 'sizes 40-45', which has become a red flag on its own
Sorry...
...moreover the seller's in China! Didn't know they had the new models replicated

« Last Edit: April 30, 2010, 04:09:07 PM by dirkverelst » Logged
hinogi
Hero Member
*****

Reputation: 7
hinogi is starting to look familiar.hinogi is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 528


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: April 30, 2010, 04:22:55 PM »

if you look at the strap though, its black and not grey like its supposed to be.  also, the 'vibram' logo on the side looks to me to be embroidered, not rubber like the real ones.  finally, the sticker on the box is white, not brown like it should be.   also, the stitching on the yellow tab on the inside of the heel is not the same as real ones...

is that right or do these variations actually happen by the manufacturer?
I also notice the material around the ankle area ought to be higher and tighter for the KSO.
Logged
Mojo Yugen
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
Mojo Yugen is a new face.
Posts: 13



View Profile
« Reply #29 on: April 30, 2010, 04:42:57 PM »

These fall under the "too good to be true" category.  Since no legitimate store can keep these in stock you have to just assume that they are either knock-offs, stolen, factory seconds, ghost-shifts or a combination of the above.   
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 16
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
anything