BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
September 07, 2010, 07:04:09 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Have you seen the new BirthdayShoes wiki?  An evolving work in progress, let justin know if you'd like to contribute!  http://birthdayshoes.com/wiki/
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  

Tired of seeing ads? Simply become a forum member and login (membership is free!).

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
Author Topic: Fake VFFs and Dubious Sellers - Post Your Questions and Warnings Here  (Read 2387 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
areminefake
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
areminefake is a new face.
Posts: 19


View Profile
« Reply #45 on: August 11, 2010, 05:08:15 PM »

Hard to say because only a few pics but if only paypal is allowed you are on the safe side anyway.

Why is that?  And after I get them, is there any way to be sure if they are real or fake?
Logged
BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
« Reply #45 on: August 11, 2010, 05:08:15 PM »

 Logged
hinogi
Hero Member
*****

Reputation: 7
hinogi is starting to look familiar.hinogi is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 513


View Profile
« Reply #46 on: August 12, 2010, 07:14:17 AM »

Hard to say because only a few pics but if only paypal is allowed you are on the safe side anyway.

Why is that?  And after I get them, is there any way to be sure if they are real or fake?
Usually there is, there are some indicators like wrong stitching or such, you can make some pics and post them here for analysis.
Logged
mr_webfoot
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
mr_webfoot is a new face.
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #47 on: August 13, 2010, 11:38:03 PM »

I saw a link to this article on the Dragon Door Forum, but it should really be mentioned here, since it mentions Justin and this site.
Logged
sailorwind
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
sailorwind is a new face.
Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #48 on: August 17, 2010, 02:14:30 PM »

I was wondering about this site:

http://www.vibram-outlet.com/

I ran the address through a domain checker and it came up U.S. but I know that doesn't necessarily mean anything.  I tried to do a search to see if anyone had reported this site or really talked at all about it, but I haven't found anything.  I also used the link on vibramfivefingers.com to ask them if the site was legit or not and have not heard back.
Logged
BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
« Reply #48 on: August 17, 2010, 02:14:30 PM »

 Logged
hinogi
Hero Member
*****

Reputation: 7
hinogi is starting to look familiar.hinogi is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 513


View Profile
« Reply #49 on: August 17, 2010, 02:27:14 PM »

I was wondering about this site:

http://www.vibram-outlet.com/

I ran the address through a domain checker and it came up U.S. but I know that doesn't necessarily mean anything.  I tried to do a search to see if anyone had reported this site or really talked at all about it, but I haven't found anything.  I also used the link on vibramfivefingers.com to ask them if the site was legit or not and have not heard back.

No its not its from china
http://whois.domaintools.com/vibram-outlet.com
Logged
sailorwind
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
sailorwind is a new face.
Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #50 on: August 17, 2010, 02:31:28 PM »

That's strange.  I had checked here:

http://www.selfseo.com/find_ip_address_of_a_website.php

say's it's US.  Oh well.
Logged
hinogi
Hero Member
*****

Reputation: 7
hinogi is starting to look familiar.hinogi is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 513


View Profile
« Reply #51 on: August 17, 2010, 03:20:16 PM »

That's strange.  I had checked here:

http://www.selfseo.com/find_ip_address_of_a_website.php

say's it's US.  Oh well.

Well that only says the web site is hosted on a server in the US but the domain is still registered in the CN.
Logged
sailorwind
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
sailorwind is a new face.
Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #52 on: August 17, 2010, 03:21:47 PM »

Oh, OK.  Thanks for the clarification!
Logged
gabe57v
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
gabe57v is a new face.
Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #53 on: August 17, 2010, 04:19:32 PM »

I just bought a pair of Bikila's on eBay from "phumasterfunk"

http://shop.ebay.com/phumasterfunk/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

does anyone know if this guy is legit?? It came with a receipt from a major retailer (i don't remember which)
Logged
hinogi
Hero Member
*****

Reputation: 7
hinogi is starting to look familiar.hinogi is starting to look familiar.
Posts: 513


View Profile
« Reply #54 on: August 18, 2010, 04:00:14 AM »

I just bought a pair of Bikila's on eBay from "phumasterfunk"

http://shop.ebay.com/phumasterfunk/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

does anyone know if this guy is legit?? It came with a receipt from a major retailer (i don't remember which)


I can only say that the pictures look okay.
Logged
ap19
Full Member
***

Reputation: 2
ap19 is a new face.
Posts: 123


View Profile
« Reply #55 on: August 18, 2010, 03:08:44 PM »

Here's another fake listing on ebay, but have a look at the fastening mechanism on them...very interesting... Shocked

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NIB-Vibram-Fivefingers-Speed-Mens-Shoes-Size-40-45-/220645919323?pt=US_Men_s_Shoes&var=

Also notice (in this person's ebay shop) that they have now copied the bikila style.
Logged

When you've done something right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all...
chiapasfixed
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
chiapasfixed is a new face.
Posts: 20


View Profile
« Reply #56 on: August 23, 2010, 10:59:05 PM »

Well, I just got had by purchasing not one but TWO pairs of KSO Treks via eBay from a seller called canada.deals

First thing, they arrived today and UPS charged me COD even though I had already paid for shipping!
Next disappointment: I take them out of the box, and they seem fine at first, but my foot wont fit into them even though I've owned 2 pairs of KSo Treks in size 43 before.
On closer inspection, they just dont look right and I notice the material between the toes is kinda glossy, not opaque like my previous pairs. Then, I notice the sole is kinda shiny too, not matte. A closer look at the leather reveals that it looks suspiciously unlike kangaroo leather.

In any case, a very good imitation but the sizing is not right, so for this reason I cant say whether they feel similar or not. I have opened dispute cases both via eBay and Paypal, hopefully I will get some of my money back!!

BEWARE canada.deals and all Ebay sellers!!

Logged
vff5528
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
vff5528 is a new face.
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #57 on: August 24, 2010, 03:05:27 PM »

Was searching online and came accross this site which had VFFs constructed in ways and with materials I've never seen before.

http://www.airmax90.net/vibram-fivefinger-kso-white-orange-p-1757.html

Logged
sailorwind
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
sailorwind is a new face.
Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #58 on: August 24, 2010, 03:09:05 PM »

Wow.  That site certainly has some interesting configurations...
Logged
supermario
Newbie
*

Reputation: 1
supermario is a new face.
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #59 on: September 03, 2010, 12:06:47 PM »

Sorry if this has been posted, but I searched the forum first and didn't come up with anything.

www.vvibramfivefingers.com = FAKE. 
Yes, two V's.  They admit their fake though.  Read below from their FAQ section.  Its funny that they say you can't actually buy authentic VFF's.  Hmmm, are they just for looking at in a museum?

6. How can you sell Vibram Five Fingers Shoes at such low price, are they authentic?
Vibram Five Fingers Shoes are the highest quality replicas of the original, but we 100% guarantee that everyone will think it's authentic.
In fact you can't buy any authentic Vibram Five Fingers Shoes. Other sites who claim they're authentic are all selling replicas as authentic at high price. We don't pretend to be authentic, and we sell highest quality replicas at the lowest price, that's why our site is so popular, even some celebrity buys from our site, with the high quality of our cloth, everyone think they are taking a real one.

Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!