BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
September 23, 2014, 06:25:24 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Tired of seeing ads? Simply become a forum member and login (membership is free!).

nanny-rosy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3-5 mi by Aug TMTS?  (Read 1239 times)
Onoku

Onoku is a new face.

View Profile WWW
« on: May 30, 2011, 07:19:21 AM »

Hey guys, I am new to VFF and barefoot. I have been reading plenty about problems people encounter from TMTS and plan on heeding the warnings. I was wondering though, do you think shooting for 3-5 miles by the beginning of August is a realistic goal? I will be traveling in August and I would love to be able to pack my VFFs and save some room instead of bringing along bulky shoes.

My running blog - www.tentoejoe.wordpress.com

"To give any less than your best is to sacrifice a gift" -Pre
« on: May 30, 2011, 07:19:21 AM »

delucio

delucio is a regular 'round here.delucio is a regular 'round here.delucio is a regular 'round here.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2011, 09:28:41 AM »

If you work at it and do it carefully, yes doing that kind of mileage is realistic. Are you looking to be hiking or running?

http://barefootdallas.blogspot.com

BaReFoOt  DaLlAs
Onoku

Onoku is a new face.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2011, 10:58:36 AM »

Running. I am going to be continually building up my mileage with the goal of running a marathon, so hopefully in August, 5 miles will be my short run.

tak555

tak555 is starting to look familiar.tak555 is starting to look familiar.

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2011, 12:54:09 AM »

generally speaking, i think 3 miles by august is doable, but 5 might be pushing it. 

but, everyone's different.  i'm sure you've read it before, but the best thing to do is listen to your body.