BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
September 21, 2014, 08:07:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Tired of seeing ads? Simply become a forum member and login (membership is free!).

nanny-rosy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: First run with shoes for a while - didn't end well - advice?  (Read 981 times)
Larry

Larry is a new face.

View Profile
« on: March 24, 2012, 08:43:00 AM »

Hi folks,

I'm just looking for a bit of advice here, and to try and work out what happened today.  I'm a beginner, and very short of fitness after a few years of inactivity.  Kids, you've got to love them!

Anyway, things have been working well, over the last couple of months I've been doing a barefoot run on the beach every week or two on average, ramping up to 4.5km, along with a weekly game of basketball and cricket.  I found out about an 8km fun run that's being held in 3 weeks near my town, so I thought I'd challenge myself to finish.  Nothing too serious, but I'm needing a goal to turn the 'every week or two' into a more regular run, say 3 times per week.

So I figured I would have to run the 8km back in shoes, because I'm not quite conditioned for doing that sort of distance barefoot (I might be OK, but I'm trying to be conservative).  I decided to do 5km this morning in my old runnng shoes.  It ended badly.  I can't really put a finger on it, but I just felt completely flat, my running style felt a bit weird, my legs were heavy, my calves were sore, my mind wandered and I stopped after 3 or 4 km.  Oh, the embarrassment.  I stopped.  And walked.  It was horrible.