BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
September 02, 2014, 02:45:29 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Tired of seeing ads? Simply become a forum member and login (membership is free!).

nanny-rosy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Some questions from a beginner runner  (Read 1035 times)
seannymurrs

seannymurrs is a new face.

View Profile
« on: May 21, 2012, 01:55:28 PM »

First off let me clarify that I am a beginner to running period, not just barefoot/minimalist running. I've owned a bare of VFF classics for about a year now, and they are the shoes I wear daily in the summer, but I've never tried running with them. It wasn't until recently that I decided to take up running at all. My question is this... Since I love wearing my VFF classics for my every day activities, should I try running in them? Some of my friends who are runners have suggested getting a normal pair of running shoes for now, and then transitioning to the minimalist shoes down the line. There's a part of me that thinks this might not make sense because I'd have to learn how to run twice, once in regular shoes, and then again when I switch to VFFs. I'm currently doing a couch to 10k type program that has me running in very short intervals at the moment. I'm only on week two, and the program has me running for 1.5 minutes, then walking for 1.5 minutes. I repeat this for a total of 30 minutes. Would this be a good way to get used to running in my VFFs? And finally, I'm currently a pretty big guy. I'm 6'3 and 269lbs. The reason I'm getting into running in the first place is to lose some weight, but I wasn't sure if my current weight would be a deciding factor in whether to try running in a minimalist shoe.