BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
October 31, 2014, 11:42:07 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Tired of seeing ads? Simply become a forum member and login (membership is free!).

nanny-rosy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sore heels from Vff treks?  (Read 868 times)
lestic

lestic is a new face.

View Profile
« on: November 01, 2012, 03:57:52 AM »

Hello!

New to this forum. I've been running in vff kso for a few months, taking it easy to start with. Just walked with them for the first couple of months. I think my form is quite ok, I'm landing on the ball of my foot.
Weather started to get colder here in Finland, so I bought a pair of vff treks. Figured their a bit warmer, and have a better grip when it starts to get slippery. So yesterday I ran in them for maybe about 4 km, and had sore heels afterwards.
Pretty sure I wasn't heel striking. I was running part on asphalt, most on gravel road. Weather was cold, temps around -2C, no snow yet but the gravel road was very hard, ground starts to be a bit frozen. I was running in long trousers and only a t-shirt, felt really good Smiley
Could this have something to do with the more agressive tread on treks? Maybe that digs into my heels somehow?
Actually now that I think about it, the soreness isn't exactly on the heel, more like on front of the heel.

It's not a bad pain, slight soreness.

What do you think?
« on: November 01, 2012, 03:57:52 AM »

nowster

nowster is starting to look familiar.nowster is starting to look familiar.

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2012, 08:15:17 AM »

It may just be that the sole of your Treks is still new and slightly stiff.

VFF: M46: Classic, KSO x4, Trek x3, Trek LS, Treksport x2, KMDSport, EL-X, Bikila LS, Spyridon MR, Flow, Signa, Speed, Sprint (fake?), KSO EVO;
       M47: Speed, Classic (too big)