BirthdayShoes.com Vibram Five Fingers Forum
November 22, 2014, 12:52:30 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  

Tired of seeing ads? Simply become a forum member and login (membership is free!).

nanny-rosy
Pages: 1 ... 105 106 [107] 108 109 ... 117
  Print  
Author Topic: VFF Running  (Read 144100 times)
RayKay

RayKay is a new face.

View Profile
« Reply #1590 on: July 26, 2010, 01:25:48 PM »

Balsam,

I would be shocked if it took your blood blister few weeks to heal before you could run again.
I am far from an expert, but do have lots of blister experiences. When I was big into adventure racing or when I was still in military I had to keep going when I got blisters (blood or regular) and they were part of the deal. I find as long as I give them proper care (keep feet clean and dry, cover blister area with padding to stop friction (bandaid, blister patch, or gauze and moleskin), and let feet air whenever have chance, and make sure I am not constricting blood flow), I heal quickly even as I keep running or hiking on it. It may  be sensitive for a couple days but will dry out and heal. I still do this when I have managed a VFF blister (not often) and still have pretty feet, ha.

But maybe it is because I am too stubborn NOT to run - since I am a pretty avid runner - that in your situation I would probably just wear less or non-minimalist shoes for a few days as it healed with proper foot care, as you can still focus on proper foot strike and form in most neutral shoes, or really protect the blister and wear VFFs still. It might burst but just make sure to keep it really clean and sterile. 

So, I can see taking a few days off and is probably smarter than my "keep at 'er" mentality, but a few weeks off would likely be unecessary unless you have some condition that limits healing.