Comment from: Mountain Evan Chang [Visitor]  
Mountain Evan Chang

"They are smooth, solid, nicely sprung and can probably be used to fight crime, if necessary."

HAHA!

03/26/18 @ 13:48
Comment from: Fey [Visitor]
Fey

I don't think you can put it as a con that a shoe is not meant to do a thing it is not meant for? I mean, it's a dress shoe, it's not shy about not being a running shoes. I wear running shoes for running and work shoes for work (though those are a running model) and dress shoes for dress up and all of them are minimalist shoes.
The color of these shoes is definitely great!
(You did manage to take a picture though where I get a little hint of clown from the shoes, the one with the green pants, but it'S probably the angle :D.)
(I have seen at least one other brand do the little fake heel https://www.zaqq.de/briq-brogue-black/ though my model doesn't have that. I have no idea how they compare in looks. In the pictures your shoes look better, though that could be lighting.)

03/27/18 @ 20:53
Comment from: [Member]

Fey,

Considering how this is a minimalist shoe review site, it is not out of the question that our reviews cater to the preferences of a variety of enthusiasts.

This is why I always make recommendations based upon who I think each shoe was designed for and who I believe would enjoy the shoe the most.

I write more-so in the realm of a hard-core minimalist, looking for maximum flexibility and training of technique and providing just enough protection to keep one safe, but without interfering with the natural dexterity and motions of the human foot.

With that in mind, dress shoes for these types of runners would be shoes that are dressy enough for going out and light formal use, but still retain the spirit of a minimalist shoe, though there will inevitably be some tradeoffs.

In looking at the Zaqq, I cannot say anything about craftmanship and materials as I have not reviewed those shoes (but I'll be sure to email the manufacturers), but the heel is quite different from the one in the Claret FER. The Fer has a more natural looking false heel, while the Zaqq is more obvious when viewed from more angles.

In my view and experience, the FER is the most dressy of the minimalist dress shoes that I have seen. That does not mean that it is the most built up or thickest, but it is the most natural-looking when it comes to looking like a traditional dress shoe, while allowing for many minimalist benefits.

It may be too thick or not flexible enough for some, but would be a good fit for many.

04/02/18 @ 13:31
Comment from: Richard N [Visitor]  
Richard N

Thank you for your great review! I've ordered some Shamma Sandals and Soft Star Hawthornes because of your reviews and I've been happy with them both. I've now just ordered a pair of these Carets Co shoes and I'm waiting for them to ship. Would you be able to review a pair of Prime Trotters? I found a decent review on this website:

https://primalhacker.com/blog/barefoot-shoes

But I'd like to hear what you have to say.

Thanks!!!

04/09/18 @ 02:10
Comment from: [Member]

Richard!

So happy to hear that you enjoy Shamma and Soft Star! They are both fantastic companies and we are quite glad that they keep innovating and improving their designs with each passing iteration!

Stay tuned for something from Shamma, just in time for summer!

Thanks for the suggestion!
We'll be reaching out to check out a pair of Prime Trotters!
Stay tuned!

04/09/18 @ 10:36
Comment from: Fey [Visitor]
Fey

Hey, thanks for your answer. I guess if running is your thing, you would compare everything to that.
What I like about the Zaqq shoes is that (at least some of the models) are actually quite square in front. I have short toes on feet that are wide in front, so my feet have almost no taper, so shoebox area is especially important to me.
(As a kid when I was still getting my feet measured regularly at the shoe store, we always knew to try on shoes a number bigger than the measurement said, because they would be too short at the side otherwise.)

And to reiterate: These shoes do look very luxurius and well made!

04/15/18 @ 15:44
Comment from: wvc [Visitor]
wvc

I bought a pair of these and will confirm that they are excellent, high-quality shoes. I wish they made a Chelsea or some sort of boot with this type of heel/sole. It's a GREAT looking shoe!

04/20/18 @ 16:12
Comment from: [Member]

Fey,

As an avid runner, I searched high and low for quality minimalist dress and lifestyle shoes so my feet can enjoy the comfort of a wide toebox and my arches and be strengthened with a thin and flexible sole at all times.

Obviously, this is my own personal opinion, so it is always good to highlight different preferences in all my reviews.

WVC,
I HIGHLY suggest that you reach out to Carets and suggest a new model! If someone can make a beautiful, but functional boot of this type, it's them!

04/20/18 @ 17:41
Comment from: [Member]

Hey PrimeTrotters!

Looking forward to it!

We have Richard M to thank for the first spark of our future review!

05/11/18 @ 09:32
Comment from: Avtar [Visitor]
Avtar

I am looking for a pair of shoes to replace some old Merrell bearfoot running shoes that are at least 3-4 years old and are still a joy to wear but they are very worn and need replacing. I ordered their new version but they made me pronate terribly. Does anyone recommend a flat sole minimalist trail running shoe that is not 5 toes?

Thanks All

05/30/18 @ 19:45
Comment from: [Member]

Avtar,

You might like the Feelmax Vasko, Xeroshoes Prio,Topo ST-2 and COR.

If you browse around birthdayshoes.com, you'll be sure to find something for you!

05/31/18 @ 18:35
Comment from: Reuven Lerman [Visitor]
Reuven Lerman

Hi, ever since I broke my ankle and had 2 surgeries over 10 years ago I hated wearing shoes. For a long time I went barefoot and got kicked out of stores. Then I started taking flip flops or sandals with me so I can get into stores; I even wore them with my suit for occasions as I hated dress shoes most of all. I had the nike free for a bit and it wasn't great, then when the Vibram 5 fingers started to become popular I bought a pair and loved them. However they fell apart too quickly and they took too long to get on. Then I got a pair of keens which I liked for the most part but they also fell apart. Finally I came across merrell/vibram in REI and fell in love, I have never been so happy with a shoe in my life.

My problem is that I was just asked by my boss to wear more dressy shoes. I started wearing dress shoes for very rare occasions and I only buy pairs with no heal at all. My current pair of dress shoes are Mephisto, they are a soft leather so they don't have the awful stiffness that cut into the area of my ankle surgery. They look quite nice and for a dress shoe they are pretty good but I never wear them for very long. Now I am being asked to wear some kind of shoe while sitting in an office for a full work day (and sometimes even longer). I don't even love doing that with my Merrells.

I just started looking up CARETS (and others) and found your review. I guess what I am asking you is if you think CARETS will be better comfort wise than my current Mephisto or not. I know they would look a little more dressy and that might be a reason to buy them at a later time but for now comfort and well being is my focus. If you have another recommendation I'd gladly take it as well. I would appreciate your expert advice.

thanks!

10/03/18 @ 19:08
Comment from: [Member]

Hi Reuven!

I have not checked out the Mephisto shoes, but just from looking at their website and product pictures, they are definitely different from the FER V4.

I woud say that the Mephisto is more akin to, say, a Keen shoe but is not necessary a dress shoe (though you can probably get away with it in some circumstances). The FER is DECIDEDLY a dressy shoe that is great for the office, for the club, or meeting members of the press :).

The Carets are a bit stiff, but that's just in my opinion--I typically like to be able to BALL up my shoes, but you can see in my review a couple of flexibility tests.

What I like about them is that they are ninja minimalist shoes. They look like all other dress shoes, but are secretly something lower, lighter, and more flexible.

I highly recommend that you try them out, but understand that they are on dressy side of things and require more work and conditioning than something you can just kick back with on the weekends. I am a huge fan, but I would prefer to only break them out on days where I know the weather will be in my favor and I don't have to cause any trouble!

10/10/18 @ 14:29


Form is loading...